Question regarding legal definition of “Firewatch” in Oregon (and what it constitutes)

There's a 3 story residential building with an alarm system. That alarm system isn't 100% right now. As in, it wont activate strobes or buzzers to indicate that a fire is actually happening, however, I'm told that the sprinklers will go off.

Is this a building that legally requires Firewatch Services to be performed? I was told to just check the alarm panel, not to walk every floor looking for smoke or an actual fire… just check the alarm panel, which as far as I can tell, appears to be faulty.

Is this a building that legally requires Firewatch Services to be performed?

Also, what does it mean to do Firewatch (legal definition)? Am I to remain IN the building, the entire time?

If I'm unsure about what to do, should I call Clackamas Fire and have them come out to tell me whether or not the place should be under Firewatch?

This facility went approx. two years during construction, without anyone doing firewatch. So I don't trust my bosses when they tell me what I should or shouldn't be doing concerning this.

For context, I'm a security guard. Who do I contact to assess this situation at this hour (Clackamas non-emergency)? Preferrably anonymously, so I don't lose my job, but follow the law.

Leave a Reply

