31 y/o, Finally committing to becoming a PA. Let me know if anyone else is in the same boat as me.

Hi everyone,

31 year old graduate student here. Ive been considering becoming a PA, since I learned about them 5-6 years ago, and I believe I am ready to commit to a long term plan towards achieving that goal.

I am currently in grad school for a history M.A., a substitute teacher, and an on-again-off-again seasonal worker for the US Forest Service. I am a stereotypical, underemployed, millennial. I feel like my life is going nowhere and I want a REAL career.

For years, I was completely discouraged from trying anything in the medical field because I failed, hard, out of my chemistry major as an undergraduate (my original goal was to become a pharmacist). Because of that frustration, I picked up history and never looked back — or so I thought.

I've been out of college for a little over 3 years now (I got my BA in 2013), and I've done nothing but prove the well known wisdom that a BA in any humanities is essentially worthless in the workplace. This is something that I knew all along, which is why I went with chemistry in the first place.

I'm tired of scratching together two, sometimes three, jobs to make ends meet. I know I have the capability to achieve something like this as long as I apply myself. So here is what I'm going to do, let me know if you all think this is feasible:

-Finish my masters by May 2018 (I'm done with all my coursework, might as well get the degree).

-Become a CNA sometime mid-2018 so that I can begin working on the requisite 1000-2000 patient care hours most PA programs require.

-Enroll in community college fall 2018 part time to start knocking out science pre-req's while I work as a CNA.

-Fall 2018 through Fall 2019 complete science pre-req's (A&P, chemistry, Statistics, Psychology, et al).

I know this seems like a long route, but I hope to avoid the same mistake I made as an undergraduate by taking too many classes at once while I was trying to pass chemistry. This is why I'm spreading out the timeline, it also gives me time to rack up direct patient care hours.

Anyway, sorry for the long-winded, stream-of-consciousness, post. But, I hope that by my posting this in public, it actualizes my resolve to follow through with my plan. I also hope that this encourages others that are out there that want more from their working life. I don't want to retire as a seasonal worker or a security guard. I already wasted too much time on that in my 20's. Now I'm older, I want more out of life. It's time to get to work.

tldr: 31y/o stuck in a rut, no career, need to buckle down and make a change. Need to have a career where I can feel proud of what I do and make a difference. I don't mind taking it slow as long as I'm building towards something.

Leave a Reply

