Please help.

This might seem crazy. I might seem crazy. But I don't know who else to tell.

It started last week. I would be at work and would feel very uneasy, the hairs on my arms would raise for no reason. I work in customer service at a supermarket, and evenings are pretty quiet normally. I can stand at my desk for a good half an hour without seeing a single customer. This night was no different, so why did I feel like there was someone with me? I brushed it off and busied myself with paperwork, but try as I might, I could not shake the damn feeling. "I'm off to go tidy the seasonal aisle," I mumbled to the security guard as I hurried past him. He didn't even have chance to answer. The uneasiness eventually faded as I finished my tidying, and it was the last thing on my mind as I clocked off and walked to my car. I was debating whether to get food on my way home when I saw it. The shadow was identical to mine, but much bigger. I spun around to catch the person that was behind me, only to be greeted with an empty car park. I spun back around and the shadow was still there. I know what you're thinking. But it wasn't my shadow, which was right next to it. I walked quickly to my car and the shadow hesitated for a second, before following me. My fast pace turned into a sprint and as I gained speed the shadow seemed to lose it. Luckily I had my keys in my hand, so I pressed the fob as I neared my car, and slammed into the driver seat, quickly locking the door behind me. I've never driven so fast (within the speed limit) in my life.

The next few days past by in a blur. I wasn't at work so I stayed inside with the doors and windows locked at all times – a difficult task in the middle of an English heatwave. You may think that I was being extra cautious, but this shadow had somehow managed to follow me. I could see it outside my windows, pacing up and down. I have no idea what it is, I cannot see what the shadow belongs to. I'm scared to go near the windows to look. If I lived in a house I would be able to try to get a better look at this shadow, but unfortunately I inherited my grandmother's bungalow when she passed away. I can't even escape through the back door because it seems to follow me around the perimeter of the house.

Night time is the worst. The shadow seems to grow in the moonlight, and the tapping on my bedroom window is unbearable. Just tap, tap, tap all night. I've hardly slept a wink. I'm due to go to work tomorrow, but I'm not leaving my house. I genuinely don't know what to do. I have no other family to call on, but let's face it, who would believe me anyway? Please help.

Leave a Reply

