I need to vent

So I've had to most rediculous experience with the alcohol company my venue requires. Before we booked the venue, I looked at the alcohol menu and priced things out to make sure we could afford it. I set up a meeting (you have to schedule it on their website. The soonest option was about a week out). The girl calls me and we discuss what we want and the date/length/numbers, ect. She says she'll get me the quote by EOD tomorrows. A week goes by and I dont have anything from her. I email her. No reply. I email the main email, and the reply says theyll forward the info to the girl Ive been working with(we can call her Mary). Another week goes by and nothing. I call the main number and someone else picks up. She says that mary is on another call but she would let her know I called. Never heard back. I set up a meeting on their website thinking that would be better. I wait 4 or 5 days for the meeting. Meeting time comes and I dont get a call. I call the main number 20 minutes after our meeting time, and Mary answers. She says "yes your meeting was with me. Sorry I was in another meeting". I honestly think it was a lie because if she was in a meeting she should call me when shes done, but also she should have reacheduled our meeting. She takes down my info again and sends me the quote the next day. It 5450. Its a little over our budget, but we can squeeze it in. It was over what I calculated because they also require security guards that cost more than the bartenders. They also add in tip right away (15%) and its more if you dont want tip buckets. We cant afford the extra so I guess there will be tip buckets.

At this point I was annoyed. I asked my planner if he could talk to Noahs and see if they can help us or work with the bartender we hired prior or something. He finds their main liquor person's phone number and calls them. Theres nothing they can do because the alcohol company(S&O) own their liquor license. I give up and sign the fucking contract and pay the deposit.

Today I get this email.

Hello,

My name is Jane and I have taken over the New Albany location from Mary. I wanted to reach out and let you know that since you last spoke with her there has been an update on the license in that location. 

Noah's was in the process of obtaining liquor licenses for all of their locations when we first began speaking about your event, and we anticipated that license would be in effect in New Albany before your wedding date. We have now extended the date of licensure and as a result can allow you to bring in the alcohol yourself. This means you will be able to take advantage of sale prices as well as being able to take home all the leftover alcohol after the event.

I do apologize if these changes have caused any confusion or inconvenience. At this point I want to ensure you have everything  you were planning to have at the bar for your reception. I am happy to answer any questions you have as well. We will still book the bartending for you and can provide non-alcoholic items if you would prefer as well.

I am happy to speak with you by phone or answer any questions you may have by email as well. 

So of course I get excited. Planning the wines and liquors. Thinking about the money well save ect. I email her and ask for a time to talk. 430 today is her response. I tell FH to be ready for a call.

Then maybr 4 hours later I get this email.

My name is Janice and I am the Sales Manager with S&O.  I understand you have some questions regarding bar service for your reception next year in New Albany.   I would be happy to address any questions or concerns that you have. I was informed that you had met with another bar services company before the transition to S&O and apologize for any inconvenience or concerns this change has caused. I’m sure you have been informed that Noah’s will have a liquor license in place at the venue before your wedding date. What that means is that all alcohol and bar services must now go through S&O to stay compliant with liquor licensing regulations. Individuals and outside companies can no longer bring alcohol into the venue, not as a mater of policy, but in order to follow the laws that regulate an establishment with a liquor license. I am sorry that this change has caused your concern, and required a change in the original service you had planned for your reception.

I do see that you have paid a deposit on a proposal sent to you by one of our sales reps. If you have any questions or concerns related to that proposal, I would be happy to address them with you.  Our goal is to make this transition as easy as possible for you, so please let me know what I can do for you or if you would like to explore some additional options for your bar. 

I can be reached by email or at the direct line below.

I fwrd that email to jane.

430 comes and jane calls on time. Apparently she was given the wrong year for our date. So were back at square one. I express my frustration and their lack of options on the menu. She says shell put together a custom quote with exactly what I want. We still cant have jello shots though. She said shed have the quote to us by thursday.

Right now, Im frustrated at the price for such a limited setup (2 beers, 2 wines, 4 liquors) and the shitty customer service. Right now Im worried they are going to do a shitty job on our wedding. Im afraid they are going to ruin our weddinng. Im just sick of feeling helpless and like Im being fucked around with. I also feel stupid for picking this venue without reading reviews on the alcohol company.

Not asking for a solution, just wanted to vent.

Leave a Reply

