Disability Retirement computation as a Dual Status Technician question.

This past weekend I received good/bad news about my future as a Federal Employee. I am a Dual Status Technician (E5/GS-09) in the Texas National Guard and have a heart condition that makes me unfit for military service. Part of my requirement for Federal employment is my continued membership to the TXARNG, so this will force me to apply for Disability Retirement in the future.

I have 58 months of Federal service, which qualifies me to draw Disability Retirement from FERS. My question is, how do I find out what I would receive per month? According to the OPM website for Types of disability at https://www.opm.gov/retirement-services/fers-information/types-of-retirement/#url=Disability

40% of your high-3 average salary minus 60% of your Social Security benefit for any month in which you are entitled to Social Security disability benefits.

My 40 percent of my high-3 is 62,000, but I have no idea how to figure out the rest. Anyone with knowledge or help on the matter is greatly appreciated.

Leave a Reply

