[NEWS] Canadian cabinet reform

It has been a busy week for the Conservative party as Mr. Taylor seeks to finalize the establishment of the first right-wing government in two decades. In his final address to parliament this evening, the Prime Minister proposed his new cabinet ministers and outlined his objectives for Canada. He spoke of stability, security and national sovereignty within his opening remarks – stating he would pursue to repeal old-fashioned liberal legislation that had troubled the nation for years. Later turning to specifics, he vowed to increase spending on technological and scientific research in order to help 'modernize our police and armed forces, retaining our position on the world's stage'. He also described plans to replace liberal legislation that 'restricts our national security agencies working at full potential' and to 'maintain our friendship and membership with the United Nations and Commonwealth states'. Lastly, he promised to reduce multiple forms of tax, deeming the current rates 'ineffective and economically disastrous', in order to create a more competitive national economy.

Cabinet positions

Role Incumbent
Minister of Foreign Affairs Lamont Gubbard
Minister of National Defence Gerald Ting
Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness Cameron Smith
Minister of Agriculture and Agri-Food Richard Barton
Minister of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Barry Macy
President of the Treasury Board Alan Freeland
Leader of the Government in the House of Commons Evan Shepard
Minister of Fisheries, Oceans and the Canadian Coast Guard Jenson Courtenay
Minister of Small Business and Tourism Freddie Churchil
Minister of Employment, Workforce and Labour Theresa Waller
Minister of National Revenue Adam Sanders
Minister of Public Services and Procurement Dennis Walking
Receiver General for Canada Neil Hunton
Minister of Natural Resources Jack Venice
Minister of Canadian Heritage Paul Courbyn
Minister of Innovation, Science and Economic Development Samuel Kelly
Minister of Intergovernmental Affairs and Youth Molly Smith
Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada Julliette Saunder
Minister of Finance Ted Anderson
Minister of Health Andy Walkers
Minister of International Development Martin King
Minister responsible for La Francophonie David Alder
Minister of Veterans Affairs Isaac Freeman
Minister of Environment and Climate Change Ruth Dandley
Minister of Infrastructure and Communities Stephan Smith
Minister of Status of Women Hollie Mournian
Minister of Sport and Persons with Disabilities Terry Peters
Minister of Science Niamh Oldwood
Minister of Immigration, Refugees, and Citizenship Boris Tinker
Minister of Democratic Institutions Archie Halloway
Minister of International Trade Alex Sims

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: