I screwed up the first 26 years of my life, how can I choose what to do now?

So brief life story: I was very socially awkward and my parents were not really around much. I had no friends and very poor grades because I was terrified of doing presentations in highschool and I was also kind of lazy, but mostly the social awkwardness; I skipped a lot of classes where there was a risk of any social interaction beyond just sitting beside someone. I actually did not graduate highschool when I was supposed to and had to take online courses to graduate.

One day I realised I was being a loser bitch and that I was going nowhere so I decided to improve myself. Nobody really helped me because my parent's didn't really know how. I started by losing 60 pounds, getting into better shape, and getting into a police foundations program. I swore to myself that I would do well, and I did. I improved so much as a person: physically, mentally, and socially. I got over my fear of being around people, of public speaking, etc. I graduated with a 3.6 gpa, I was doing volunteer work, getting connected with police officers, and I just started as a security guard at an airport (quite difficult to get into this particular company, but I got help through connections).

But my dad was an alcoholic and it got worse. Why does that matter? Well, he and my mom are the owners of a small business. And when he started to really drink he was unable to handle his business, things started to slip, and, unless they got help, they would probably lose it.

So I decided to help. I quit my job at the airport, I stopped volunteering, I stopped heading towards being a police officer because the business would take up at least 50 hours per week of my time, and any free time I had I am on call.

This was four years ago.

Things are better now, my dad stopped drinking (after almost dying), and now I am "free to do what I want with my life."

Well, I am currently working 60+ hours a week as a manager at my parent's restaurant, so I have management experience, so I can apply for jobs like administrative assistant, CSR, management elsewhere, or something similar.

Or, I can go back to school.

I don't really want to take over the business because it is a franchise and corporate is starting to make really stupid decisions. But it has crossed my mind. I would be making about $70,000 a year after taxes in exchange for about 60 hours a week.

But I am not sure what to do… My dream is to be a writer and in my spare time I am writing a book which is very close to being finished and then published on amazon kindle, but being a writer and making a living rarely go hand-in-hand so I am looking at other options.

I have outlined some options below.

I will greatly appreciate any additional ideas or comments on my current ideas.

Option 1: -Take Social Service Worker Course

http://communityservices.humber.ca/programs/diplomas/social-service-worker?

-Keep working at current job 50 hours per week

-After 2 years graduate and apply for Social Worker position, work towards Bachelors

http://communityservices.humber.ca/programs/degrees/behavioural-science-bachelor

Or

http://communityservices.humber.ca/programs/degrees/community-development-bachelor-of

-While doing the two years I will keep applying to administrative assistant and other positions, if successful, get hired and keep working towards degree/diploma part time

Option 2:

-Take Bachelor of Social Science (only four semesters because of Police Foundations)

http://communityservices.humber.ca/programs/degrees/criminal-justice-bachelor-of-social-science.html

-Keep working at current job 50 hours per week

-after 2 years graduate and … ??? Apply for court officers, border officers, etc.

-While doing the two years I will keep applying to administrative assistant and other positions, if successful, get hired and keep working towards degree/diploma part time

Option 3:

-Take an accounting course

http://business.humber.ca/programs/diplomas/business-accounting?#SchoolProgramDetails/ProgramPathways

-And possibly bachelors

http://business.humber.ca/programs/degrees/accounting.html

-If I only take the 2 or 3 years, graduate with the diploma and apply for accounting positions

-If I go for the degree, graduate after 6? Years and start applying (though it seems there is a paid position which can lead to stuff)

-While doing the two years I will keep applying to administrative assistant and other positions, if successful, get hired and keep working towards degree/diploma part time

Option 4:

-Keep working at current job

-Keep applying for other positions (administrative assistant, mostly)

-if successful, get hired and then think about doing option 1, 2, or 3 part time

Leave a Reply

