The Reason I Stopped Working

Hi all. Please excuse my formatting, this is my first post ever.

Just found this subreddit literally this morning and am glad that I'm not the only person this happens to. Most of my tales apply more to TFR but this particular one I think can go in both categories; I had a hard time deciding for sure.

Anyways, I used to work 2 jobs, as a trainer at a movie theater and one as an assistant manager/supervisor of a frozen yogurt shop. This particular incident happened at the movie theater and still gives me traumatic flashbacks.

It's almost been 2 years to the day it happened. It was Christmas day, and we were open at the theater. Because we're one of the few stores open that day, it's usually the busiest day of the year for us, and that day was no exception. We were expecting around 5,000 guests that day (normally on a busy Friday we get around 800, so we were in full-on battlestations-ready mode).

To make matters worse, the latest kids movie had just been released (I think it was Frozen but my memory here fails me), so we were packed even at 9:15 am for the first showing. My theater was very unique in the fact that it had a dine-in theater dining concept. It was the only one with such a concept at the time, as the other theater in the area with such a concept was still being remodeled at the time with the new decor and equipment needed. This meant our theater was very popular with tourists and people wanting a unique experience. I will say that 90% of the people who visit the theater are reasonable and pleasant.

Then you get the remaining 10%.

That day I was scheduled to work from open to before close because we were so understaffed and I was head of the lower-grade staff. So I had already been working from 8:30 in the morning helping open, and we were so busy I didn't get my lunch break until 4 pm, when my first shift was over. My next shift started at 5, so I had an hour to eat lunch. What I did every day was order the same thing from the dine-in menu at the bar: Fettuccine Alfredo. It was always the best and was a really big portion, so it was perfect for a quick working lunch.

The bartender knew me by name because I visited her to order lunch every day, even though I technically didn't work on the dine-in side (the two sides had different management teams and staff so we didn't really communicate with each other unless absolutely necessary).

So we chatted while the food was being prepared, and after about 15 minutes it came out and I went to pick it up and told the bartender to give my thanks to the chef, as usual.

That's when it happened. I went to open the door leading to the stairwell that led to the breakroom upstairs, when I felt a sharp jab from behind. Keep in mind I was still in uniform but I was no longer on the clock, so if someone wanted help I could not help them lest I get in trouble for it.

Enter Rude, Entitled bitch (RB). Typical older lady with that trollish look that we've all come to know and love. She gets right in my face after jabbing me with her acrylic nail and shouts (literally)

RB: EXCUSE ME! AREN'T YOU SUPPOSED TO BE WORKING?

Me: I'm sorry, ma'am, I'm off the clock and on break now. Why don't you go to the Guest Services desk and I'm sure they will….

RB (interrupting): NO. YOU WILL NOT MAKE ME WAIT IN LINE! I WANT YOU TO HELP ME NOW! YOU'RE JUST A LAZY, IGNORANT racist slur WHO LEECHES OFF WELFARE AND WORKS AT A DEAD-END JOB BECAUSE HE CAN'T GET NO EDUCATION (love your grammar you bitch).

Me: Ma'am, please calm down. I already told you I'm on break. I've worked since we opened and I've been on my feet for almost 8 hours.

RB: I DON'T GIVE A F*K YOU WILL SERVE ME YOU *racist slur.

Me (still trying to be polite): Again, ma'am, I'm sure Guest Services will….

At this point she turns quickly and walks away and I assume it's done. Now at this point, one of my co workers had walked over and asked me something about letting a manager know about something when I got back from break, and thanked me for working with him earlier to fix one of our drink machines. It took about 5 minutes and it was a pleasant conversation. That's when everything changed.

Enter RB's husband. The best way to describe him was as if Arnold Schwarzenegger had taken too much human growth hormone: this dude was MASSIVE and easily towered over me. I should've known he was going to be trouble instantly and I tried to hightail through the door up to the safety of the break room, but they saw me and it was too late.

RH: Rude Husband

RB: THERE! THERE'S THE racist slur WHO WOULDN'T HELP ME!

The man walks up and both of them get squarely in my face before I can enter the correct code to open the door to head up the stairs.

RH: JUST WHO DO YOU THINK YOU ARE, CHOOSING NOT TO SERVE MY WIFE AND ME?

Me: Sir, as I told your wife, I can not help people while I am off the clock. I am on break now. You are more than welcome to go to Guest Services and take care of your needed business there, but I can not help you, as I will get in trouble.

RH: I DON'T GIVE A F**K IF YOU'LL GET IN TROUBLE. YOU ARE NOTHING MORE THAN SOMEONE TO SERVE ME. SERVE ME NOW!

This went on and on in infinite number of loops until suddenly it happened. Apparently the man snapped and as I turned and walked away to get the doorway to the stairs, he yanked the back of my shirt and pulled me down. I landed squarely on my right shoulder and broke the collarbone. The pain was intense, but the worst part was the bowl of Alfredo that I was carrying flew into the air and landed all over me (my face, body, everything). I started yelling for the security guard we had to help, but he was on the other side of the lobby and had to fight through people to detain this asshat.

Then he starts stepping on my face and his wife starts kicking me. At this point people are rushing over trying to stop this Terminator on steroids from destroying and crushing me into a pulp. After the second step, I felt my jaw give way. Broken. From then on I could barely speak, and the break was so violent that it ruptured an artery in my face. So not only do I have a jaw bone precariously hanging from the torn muscle and tendon, but with every heart beat I was bleeding out into the lobby.

Eventually after what seemed like an eternity, the security guard managed to restrain the man with the help of like 10 people and one of the bystanders called 911 as he put pressure on my mouth trying to stop the bleeding. The two instigators tried to escape but people did not let them.

The cops were quick and arrived within 5 minutes. I blacked out after that. Apparently, they were arrested and I was in the hospital for 3 months, in a coma for 2 weeks. My jaw still is disfigured and my shoulder never healed properly.

This is where the story sucks though: I took them to court (obviously to pay for the damages) but the judge dismissed my case, saying not enough evidence, despite the pictures of the wounds and crime scene. We had no CCTV at the time (now we do) so there wasn't any of that. My lawyer and I agreed that the judge was probably bribed, as the lady and her husband seemed very well off and wealthy. So now I had to foot the almost $1,000,000USD bill because with my job I had no insurance. I'm still paying off what I can, but I'm fighting for a mistrial and getting a second trial. Apparently, according to the police, the two troublemakers have left the country.

I'm sorry if this isn't proper to post here, but I just thought I'd share my story because it's part of my process to get over the incident. I still can not go to a movie theater without having some sort of panic attack. At least the scars look menacing like I'm some sort of tough guy.

Leave a Reply

