(NYC) Arrested last night and need advice

Last night, I was struck by a vehicle in a parking lot in Queens. I wasn't seriously hurt, but I was really upset after a really bad weekend. I yelled at the driver and kicked his door out of anger. I called the police, thinking I can just have a record of being struck in case I ever have a health issue down the road related to this incident.

When the police arrived, they arrested me for criminal mischief, as the driver mentioned I kicked his door. (PL 145.00). I was held for hours, fingerprinted, and had photos taken, then let go with a desk appearance ticket. I have a court date set for a few months from now.

I have no criminal record, nor have I ever been arrested before. I work as a security guard and have a NYS security license. This worries me greatly, because I have never had luck finding a good job, as I have a near 10 year old degree in Biology with a 3.2 GPA. I'm afraid of what further hindrance a criminal record might do.

I also have a security license, and it's the only way I've been able to get work and save up for school. Will my license be revoked with this arrest? Will I be able to renew it? I don't know and no one else seems to have answers.

I have student loans to pay off and only recently heard of PSLF. Will I be intelligible for any public service employment with an arrest and/or misdemeanor on my record?

I'm also scared that no grad or professional school (med, PA, DO) will take me due to this arrest.

My mind is racing everywhere and I don't know what to do. I've been a loser my entire life and this feels like another step to ensure that I will never amount to anything.

If anyone is reading this, please help…

Leave a Reply

